TV Series With Same Title Which Gets The Year Added To Title

Forum maintained for archival purposes only.
Please post Series and Movie changes in their forums and questions regarding the validity of changes in Policy Enquiries
Technobob
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 7:03 am

Sat Apr 25, 2020 8:00 am

I just came across 2 shows same title but the one that aired first has the year added to the title. I thought that any new TV shows got the year added and the first TV show does not get the year

First Aired: https://thetvdb.com/series/conan-the-adventurer-1992

Second Aired: https://thetvdb.com/series/conan

Mods: just a heads up about the second URL if you notice the full title is not displayed in the URL. I've had issues in the past with that series it would scan as Conan the talkshow
Imzadi
Site Moderator
Posts: 2937
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:14 pm
Location: Germany

Sat Apr 25, 2020 8:25 am

The series added later to the database get's the year added, even if it aired first. Otherwise we would constantly rename existing shows.
Technobob
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 7:03 am

Sat Apr 25, 2020 9:01 am

Ok thanks, I was just wondering because in the past I've had to add or remove the year from shows that were already in the database such as Batman (1966) had to add the year just recently.
Imzadi
Site Moderator
Posts: 2937
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:14 pm
Location: Germany

Sat Apr 25, 2020 9:51 am

And why did you do that?
Technobob
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 7:03 am

Sat Apr 25, 2020 3:28 pm

I had to add the year because scanning in Kodi it was adding it as one the animated series I think it was last fall don't remember what series though. I came here to find the year was added so after adding the year Kodi scanned it correctly. Another series that has had the year added and removed was My Hero from the BBC it started out without the year then (2000) was added then removed about a year or two later.
Imzadi
Site Moderator
Posts: 2937
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:14 pm
Location: Germany

Sat Apr 25, 2020 3:54 pm

You should not rename a show simply because you have a personal problem with kodi. Instead you should ask in a kodi forum how to solve your problem without renaming a show for everyone else.
Technobob
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 7:03 am

Sat Apr 25, 2020 4:17 pm

I'm renaming my local files to match TVDB I'm not changing anything here someone else is editing the titles
Imzadi
Site Moderator
Posts: 2937
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:14 pm
Location: Germany

Sat Apr 25, 2020 4:28 pm

I am sorry, I misunderstood.
Technobob
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 7:03 am

Sat Apr 25, 2020 4:32 pm

I just looked up Batman and now I see the year has been removed from the title, I don't use Kodi anymore for metadata I use Jellyfin now so I'm not sure if it will scan correctly
Imzadi
Site Moderator
Posts: 2937
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:14 pm
Location: Germany

Sat Apr 25, 2020 4:41 pm

It has been removed, because it is the first show with that name in the database and that was always the title. Someone added the year not long ago.
Locked