Language=all does not work in V3 API

A place for developers to advertise their TheTVDB.com enabled app and get help from other developers with the API.
Forum rules
This forum is now read-only. Support for TheTVDB.com is now available at https://support.thetvdb.com/
Locked
chopper
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:39 pm

Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:29 pm

I know there is a ticket submitted for v1/v2 language=all not working, but I could not find anything regarding v3. I apologize if this is a duplicate post.

v3 language=all doesn't work for me when requesting a list of show banners for instance:

The show Riviera has one show banner. Using
https://api.thetvdb.com/series/326559/i ... =graphical
with language=de yields the following:

Code: Select all

{
    "data": [
        {
            "id": 1210179,
            "keyType": "series",
            "subKey": "graphical",
            "fileName": "graphical/326559-g.jpg",
            "languageId": 0,
            "language": "de",
            "resolution": "758x140",
            "ratingsInfo": {
                "average": 3,
                "count": 3
            },
            "thumbnail": "graphical/326559-g_t.jpg",
            "seriesLastUpdated": 1591615400
        }
    ]
}
However, using the same endpoint with language=all yields

Code: Select all

{
    "Error": "No results for your query"
}
emilyhelwig
Site Admin
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:14 am

Mon Jul 06, 2020 9:47 am

I believe for artwork, you have to request a specific language.
chopper
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:39 pm

Wed Aug 05, 2020 12:01 am

Hi,

OK, here is my problem:
https://api.thetvdb.com/series/326559 returns the following:

Code: Select all

{
    "data": {
        "id": 326559,
        "seriesId": "",
        "seriesName": "Riviera",
        "aliases": [],
        "season": "2",
        "poster": "posters/326559-4.jpg",
        "banner": "",
        "fanart": "fanart/original/326559-5.jpg",
        "status": "Continuing",
        "firstAired": "2017-06-15",
        "network": "Sky Atlantic (UK)",
        "networkId": "604",
        "runtime": "45",
        "language": "en",
        "genre": [
            "Crime",
            "Drama",
            "Thriller"
        ],
        "overview": "After the billionaire and art collector Constantine is killed in an explosion in his yacht, his wife Georgina remains shocked and decides to investigate; but she will soon discover the secrets of her husband and realize she is surrounded by violence, lies and murders. She will then be forced to protect her family and herself.",
        "lastUpdated": 1591615400,
        "airsDayOfWeek": "Thursday",
        "airsTime": "9:00 PM",
        "rating": "TV-PG",
        "imdbId": "tt5936448",
        "zap2itId": "",
        "added": "2017-04-05 12:56:42",
        "addedBy": 154253,
        "siteRating": 5.7,
        "siteRatingCount": 83,
        "slug": "riviera"
    }
}
So, the language in this record is "en", and the banner field is ""

The only existing banner (prev post) is marked with "de" for language, even though there doesn't seem to be anything German about it. With the banner field empty, I then ask for a list of banners for the show, which comes back empty because I didn't specify lang=de.

How am i supposed to know I need to request lang=de when asking for a list of banners for this show? If I want to download all banners, do I need to do several requests cycling through languages? How do I know which languages to cycle through?

May I request that language=all be added to functionality for requesting a list of images?

Thank you for the help.
Locked