TVDb's old Api stopped working

YouTube cat videos, family-safe pictures of Ron Jeremy, and any amusing spam we decide to keep around.
Forum rules
Please do not use this forum to discuss file trading.
austinbest
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 10:41 am

Fri Nov 22, 2019 5:58 pm

ARIO wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:29 pm
unfortunately , tvdb is not working at all
right now there is one option
restore old layout

search stopped working
I use firefox history to access to items or I use google to find items in tvdb

but
you solved time out
time out problem was the worse disaster someone could imagine from an api and you solved it
but please restore old api /old layout /old search [old means the day before I create this topic] and end this whole story

with so much respect to tvdb people
I have deep feeling for you
You should never do an HTML scrape of a website that offers a free API. HTML scrappers are to finicky to be relied upon by even the most expierenced. Websites change, layouts change, templates change, formatting changes and this is the nature of a website. No one should be expected to keep their site the same on the front end because people choose to do HTML scrapes instead of using an API. If you are going to rely on an HTML scrapper you should also keep it updated as the site changes.

Granted even if you used the API you are in for some hard times over the last week and unknown future timeframe but that is still more reliable than using a frontend HTML scrapper for data.
I speak bluntly, if that hurts your feelings you should re-evaluate things. :arrow: It is an acquired taste.
ARIO
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2019 6:22 am

Wed Dec 18, 2019 2:17 pm

hello
did you test your api?
sir , your api isn't working properly
of course I know what I am doing
why I should hurt a site which my users were using it and they were so happy?
unfortunately your last update , despite of it solved the time out , but it caused problem for api

the ids pointed by api are not correct anymore [in majority of cases]

I think you didn't see my comment when I mentioned , I use scrapper for very certain purpose , as a function HIDDEN inside my platform
the feature which users see , is a link to your site
that 2 lines scrap code were which finding proper item from your site
but I was ONLY adding your site's Link for that item to my site

Now , many of the items which api finds are wrong

I left this forum and I couldnt find my password , because honestly ,your last update , destroyed my experience of using tvdb as source for 5 years

users are asking why tvdb's links which generated by api are usually wrong

all I can answer is:
Please give me time and let me create another site's code
so technically
good bye
ARIO
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2019 6:22 am

Fri Dec 20, 2019 1:33 pm

the thing which I don't understand is why you changed your old layout which was amazing,

to new one ?!

I can see how people want to get your previous layout/theme/template to use in their sites
that layout was amazingly adsence friendly [and many other advertisers friendly ] plus some advantages for users and for api users

my last request is return back old layout/theme/template
and then give me 1 month to bring my users to you ,like old days
Imzadi
Site Moderator
Posts: 2694
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:14 pm
Location: Germany

Fri Dec 20, 2019 1:48 pm

The layout of the site is not important for scraping data. That's what the api is for. And yes the website needed desperately an update. Not to make it prettier, but to add features that were needed and users have been asking for years.

Some of the reasons szori already explained to you:
szsori wrote:
Sun Aug 18, 2019 1:03 am
ARIO wrote:I didn't see you created this topic
I posted here:

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=58057

I am pretty sure it can be solved
as it solved for a hi traffic site with 250k uniq ip/day

TVDB is suffering from this problem for long time ,I think it's time they think about it
We get over 4 million unique ips for almost 1 billion hits per day. Our connections far exceed what you specified and we've long had well-tuned Cloudflare rules. The problem is 1) poorly implemented queries on the old site which will be resolved once the new site launches, 2) site infrastructure that isn't designed to handle the load without Cloudflare which means any cache issues become compounded, and 3) not catching the DB error within the caching TTL which effectively means a full cache purge once the issue was fixed.

The issue will resolve itself once the cache catches up. The overall issue will resolve itself when we launch the new site on AWS with properly written code. We've thought about it for quite a long time already.
A second rollback is highly unlikely, considering how much work from thetvdb developers and app developers was invested in the past months.
ARIO
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2019 6:22 am

Mon Jan 20, 2020 1:57 pm

hello
please confirm that You are aware of the recent problems in api
everyday , about few hours , api stops responding and gives empty response
it started 3 h ago and still it doesn't respond

I think it's a problem
I am not familiar with your config to pin point the issue

it mostly happens at nights GMT

and a suggestion
Please bring back the old search tool in tvdb
Sphinx is choice in such big db [in my humble opinion] but if you don't want then please either give us better search or bring back old search function which was entirely acceptable

Thank you for reading
User avatar
szsori
Site Admin
Posts: 2271
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 2:23 pm

Wed Jan 22, 2020 11:12 am

Sphinx was horrible for us and is also incompatible with our current infrastructure. We use Algolia now, which is far superior. We just need to tweak it a bit.
ARIO
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2019 6:22 am

Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:22 am

hello
I appreciate if tvdb's tech experts can solve my problem

api gives wrong result for getting Correct title of the querry (which we ask tvdb-api to recognize the series title)

but
this issue happens in very pertecular way
Please check examples:

I send
Love and Hip Hop
tvdb api recognizes:
Love and Hip Hop Miami
.
.
I send:
The Daily Show
answers with:
The Daily Show: Global Edition

and so on
means ,it always gives [as first result] : the title which has some extra words in it

please check this matter:

Australian Survivor

was giving correct result for weeks , because tvdb had only 1 item with this title

then

new series added to tvdb ,2 weeks ago
its title is
Australian Survivor-Talking Tribal

and since that moment
when we send
Australian Survivor
to tvdb's api
now it gives
Australian Survivor-Talking Tribal

.
.
in my chatroom users said:
tvdb's search also gives first item , exactly the same as your api gives
[I can't confirm this matter because I don't use tvdb's search I only use Google's TVDB search tool]

do you have anything which can give me an approach ,that can solve this problem for me?

I am sure ,this is not problem for humans which can use search and , find the item ,among search results

please give me some idea about how I can ask coder to solve this issue
last day it gave many wrong results

thank you for reading
ChristyEzzell
Posts: 1116
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 12:01 pm

Wed Feb 26, 2020 11:11 am

ARIO wrote:
Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:22 am
hello
I appreciate if tvdb's tech experts can solve my problem

api gives wrong result for getting Correct title of the querry (which we ask tvdb-api to recognize the series title)

but
this issue happens in very pertecular way
Please check examples:

I send
Love and Hip Hop
tvdb api recognizes:
Love and Hip Hop Miami
.
.
I send:
The Daily Show
answers with:
The Daily Show: Global Edition

and so on
means ,it always gives [as first result] : the title which has some extra words in it

please check this matter:

Australian Survivor

was giving correct result for weeks , because tvdb had only 1 item with this title

then

new series added to tvdb ,2 weeks ago
its title is
Australian Survivor-Talking Tribal

and since that moment
when we send
Australian Survivor
to tvdb's api
now it gives
Australian Survivor-Talking Tribal

.
.
in my chatroom users said:
tvdb's search also gives first item , exactly the same as your api gives
[I can't confirm this matter because I don't use tvdb's search I only use Google's TVDB search tool]

do you have anything which can give me an approach ,that can solve this problem for me?

I am sure ,this is not problem for humans which can use search and , find the item ,among search results

please give me some idea about how I can ask coder to solve this issue
last day it gave many wrong results

thank you for reading
This is an Algolia search issue, but it may take some time. We will investigate.
ARIO
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2019 6:22 am

Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:40 pm

@ChristyEzzell:
as always:
Thank you
ARIO
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2019 6:22 am

Fri Feb 28, 2020 2:30 pm

just tiny question
You know your webserver better than anyone , so:
do you know any trick or any solution which can solve part of this issue and I can use tvdb's api in my site?
is there any approach ,I can ask coder to work on it?
unfortunately your search is not working for me
also tvdb api gives many wrong items/day

and if you can't help
thank you for reading
Post Reply