API V2 broken today

Updates on the November 2019 rollout of Version 3, including testing information, TheTVDB Bible, bugs, questions, etc.
Forum rules
Please search this thread for existing bugs before posting a new one. When posting a new bug, please start a new thread.
If you're looking for API support, please take a look at our Developers forum.
k_zeon
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:17 am

Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:36 am

yep. me too. getting "Valid User Account Required" and "API Key Required" errors trying to retrieve a token.
however , just to check. Are we automatically using Version 3.0 now
robbertkl
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:45 am

Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:41 am

Strange, getting a token is no problem for me. Does this curl command not work for you?

Code: Select all

curl -X POST https://api.thetvdb.com/login -H 'Content-Type: application/json' -d '{"apikey":"XXXXXXXX"}'
ChristyEzzell
Posts: 950
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 12:01 pm

Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:46 am

We deployed a fix for the API tokens. Let us know if you continue to have problems.
k_zeon
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:17 am

Thu Nov 14, 2019 12:01 pm

took out username & key and just left APIkey and it gives a token. So it works.

I also just noticed that if you search for a series called 'Bones' , some of the shows that are listed dont have a series name or Aliases.
My app crashed on this and would have to code in something to check for SeriesName:null and no aliases.
Shouldn't a series have a proper name.

Many thanks for the fantastic work you guys are doing.

Code: Select all

 ],
      "banner": "\/banners\/posters\/5bcd8ed1e6e00.jpg",
      "firstAired": "2018-10-20",
      "id": 354482,
      "network": "Canal+",
      "seriesName": null,
      "slug": "bonsoir",
      "status": "Continuing"
    },
    {
      "aliases": [
      ],
      "banner": "\/banners\/posters\/5bbce17d9bab6.jpg",
      "firstAired": "201\r\n8-10-20",
      "id": 353966,
      "network": "France 2",
      "seriesName": null,
      "slug": "bons-baisers-deurope",
      "status": "Continuing"
    },
    {
      "aliases": [
      ],
      "banner": "\/banners\/posters\/5dbd79b23ae86.jpg",
      "firstAired": "2014-4-1",
      "id": 336864,
      "network": "ORF 1",
      "seriesName": null,
      "slug": "336864",
      "status": "Ended"
    },
    {
      "aliases": [
      ],
shedrock
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:56 pm

Thu Nov 14, 2019 12:19 pm

This is not working in Kodi. No TV Show episodes are being scanned.

Regards,

Shedrock
ZoomStop
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 10:57 am

Thu Nov 14, 2019 2:37 pm

robbertkl wrote:
Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:41 am
Strange, getting a token is no problem for me. Does this curl command not work for you?

Code: Select all

curl -X POST https://api.thetvdb.com/login -H 'Content-Type: application/json' -d '{"apikey":"XXXXXXXX"}'
Yes using an API key that is from my account and has worked fine until yesterday, and also using a new key generated today, I get an API Key Required error when trying to fetch a token...

Image
k_zeon
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:17 am

Thu Nov 14, 2019 2:39 pm

try just using blanks for username & key
{"apikey":"xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx","username":"","userkey":""}
rather that actually taking them out
ZoomStop
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 10:57 am

Thu Nov 14, 2019 3:00 pm

k_zeon wrote:
Thu Nov 14, 2019 2:39 pm
try just using blanks for username & key
{"apikey":"xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx","username":"","userkey":""}
rather that actually taking them out
Tried this in Visual Studio and with curl and still getting the API Key Required error unfortunately.

Image
k_zeon
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:17 am

Thu Nov 14, 2019 3:07 pm

ZoomStop wrote:
Thu Nov 14, 2019 3:00 pm
k_zeon wrote:
Thu Nov 14, 2019 2:39 pm
try just using blanks for username & key
{"apikey":"xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx","username":"","userkey":""}
rather that actually taking them out
Tried this in Visual Studio and with curl and still getting the API Key Required error unfortunately.

Image
Just to check you are you sure that your using your correct apikey.
I had to double check mine by loggining into the api website and checking myself when i could not connect.
ChristyEzzell
Posts: 950
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 12:01 pm

Thu Nov 14, 2019 3:20 pm

This could be a DNS issue. Or you may be using the wrong apikey. If you go to https://www.thetvdb.com/dashboard/account/editinfo and PM me your unique user key or registered email, we can try to troubleshoot this for you.
Post Reply