Adding episode issues

Bugs, comments, questions, and complaints regarding v3 of the site, launched June 2019.
l0s3r
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 11:53 am

Wed Jul 31, 2019 4:38 pm

https://www.thetvdb.com/series/built-by ... official/1

I tried to add next episode, got 504 error

Now there are duplicate episodes? (I didn't add those)
Mistywing
Site Moderator
Posts: 1686
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 11:59 pm

Wed Jul 31, 2019 4:45 pm

There are also issues with adding episodes sequentially. The episode numbering increments but starts from a wrong value. You can see a short discussion about it here.
Taking that series as the base, if we were to add a new episode after correcting the 115 with the trick I mention, it would be added as 122 instead of 116.

=== WORKAROUND FOR EPISODE NUMBERING ===

To add episodes and work around the improper automatic numbering (Starting from 1 or leaving a gap):

1. On the edit season page send all the episodes with the wrong numbers to the Unassigned section with the "Send To" button. Yes, it's one at a time, unfortunately.

2. Then go to the Unassigned section and send them again to the proper Season starting with the first episode in the correct order. This should place them in the season with the correct number.
Last edited by Mistywing on Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
b5s4saleioh
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat May 18, 2019 9:01 am

Wed Jul 31, 2019 5:02 pm

Issue: After adding a new episode, you will get timeout error, or it will appear like it didn't save

Instructions: Exit and re-load the show page (do NOT refresh the page you used to submit new episode).
Your new episode will be there.

TLDR: The new episode and details are added, but webpage won't let you know. This is part of the reason many duplicates are appearing
b5s4saleioh
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat May 18, 2019 9:01 am

Wed Jul 31, 2019 5:12 pm

Also, can we please have the ability to manually select/enter the episode number?
b5s4saleioh
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat May 18, 2019 9:01 am

Wed Jul 31, 2019 5:42 pm

I'm going to throw in the towel and wait until the bugs are worked out before trying to add/fix anything.
This is way too frustrating to fight with: (below example of last 5 minutes)

1. Wanting to add new episode to series
2. Navigate to favourite show section from dashboard
3. Notice show is no longer listed on my favourite show bookmarks
4. Search for show and navigate to correct season
5. Add new episode & episode details
6. 504 error
7. Refresh page
8. Whoops, looks like something went wrong
9. Clear browser cache & cookies
10. Log in
11. 502 error
12. Navigate back to episode & season and find new added episode has incorrect number assigned
16. (No way to easily correct episode number assignments)
17. Attempted to follow steps HERE to correct episode number
18. Whoops, looks like something went wrong
19. Refresh page
20. 504 error

Yes, I'm aware it's a free service, and big thank you to the site admin and moderators.
Most of the content on this site is maintained by the user community and I'm happy to do my part...once the website allows me to do so. :D
mattystevo
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2019 5:54 pm

Wed Jul 31, 2019 5:58 pm

An error happened for me when adding an episode at https://www.thetvdb.com/series/live-res ... official/1 too,

I tried to add "08.08.19" as a new episode which would be episode 14 but it seems to have been added as a duplicate episode 1
Mireille
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:50 am
Location: Netherlands

Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:19 am

I wanted to add new episodes to Itzy Vlive Show, but when I did the episodes started adding from episode 1 again and I can’t change the episode number so can’t correct it. It is supposed to be added behind the original episodes so as 60.
The link to show what I mean: https://www.thetvdb.com/series/itzy-vli ... icial/2019

Here is the online show page to show what episode order it has to be at: https://channels.vlive.tv/BAE889/video
yawenaj
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 1:51 pm

Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:34 am

b5s4saleioh wrote:Also, can we please have the ability to manually select/enter the episode number?
I second this request - it was much simpler and quicker to do it this way.
Mistywing
Site Moderator
Posts: 1686
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 11:59 pm

Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:46 am

I placed the workaround I discovered in my second comment. This should allow you to fix the issues with the numbering restarting at 1 or having gaps.

I also tried to fix the Korean ITZY vLive show linked above with the method, and it at least worked from a numbers point of view. If I got the order of episodes wrong, I apologize, but you'll have to perform the steps again.
Quadriflax
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:46 pm

Thu Aug 01, 2019 4:31 am

b5s4saleioh wrote: 8. Whoops, looks like something went wrong
Been getting this one today every time. Tried on multiple browsers, both desktop and mobile, same thing. Guess we'll just have to wait it out. Glad I'm not the only one though.
Post Reply